Just another WordPress.com site

After the fight I looked like the other guy you should’ve seen

There was a desert wind blowing that night. It was one of those hot dry Santa Ana’s that come down through the mountain passes and curl your hair and make your nerves jump and your skin itch. On nights like that every booze party ends in a fight. Meek little wives feel the edge of the carving knife and study their husbands’ necks. Anything can happen. You can even get a full glass of beer at a cocktail lounge. – Red Wind

Possibly the coolest modern First Edition collector’s book is a copy of Goldfinger signed by Ian Fleming to his friend Raymond Chandler. It recently sold for £40k and is now offered for double.

Fuck me. Epic cool.

Chandler is the king of hardboiled crime fiction, my favourite of the three subgenres* of detective novels. It always starts the same way with morose private investigator Philip Marlowe sitting in his office, feet on the desk and a quart of whiskey in the drawer. A shifty floosie comes in to ask for help without giving a straight account of herself and over the next 200 pages Marlowe dredges the cesspools of 1950s Los Angeles streetlife taking a few beatings, turning down a few come-ons, until gradually piecing together a mystery that would’ve been a whole lot simpler had his client just told what she knew.

There are few better writers of quips and comebacks than Chandler. The pages crackle with intensity.

“Tall, aren’t you?” she said. “I didn’t mean to be.” Her eyes rounded. She was puzzled. She was thinking. I could see, even on that short acquaintance, that thinking was always going to be a bother to her. – The Big Sleep

We sneered at each other across the desk for a moment. He sneered better than I did. – Farewell My Lovely

I hung up. It was a step in the right direction, but it didn’t go far enough. I ought to have locked the door and hid under the desk. – The Little Sister

When I read him I’m furiously commanding my subconscious to store and catalogue all the one-liners for future use in conversation. It’s futile. I’ve only ever used one, when being threatened on the phone – “If you listen carefully, you can hear my teeth chattering”.

The genre was mostly invented by Dashiel Hammett with his Continental Op short stories that have aged remarkably well. Hammet worked briefly for the Pinkertons as an operative and it’s likely where he picked up his sharp dialogue, unromantic colouring of people’s character, and the technical details of investigating. Thus his stories feel real. Where Chandler completed the picture was adding dry humour. Lately I’ve caught back up with the Hard Case Crime series which carries the banner into the current era. These paperbacks are pumped out once per month with new lurid covers. Unbelievable as it is to me, the editors seem to share an identical taste as I’ve never been disappointed in a single one of the fifty I’ve read so far.

I plan to read one book per week this year. It’s important to pursue your hobbies for the pure leisure of it, without a care for if you are advancing yourself in a self-development-y sense. So I’ll read the classics, I’ll read science and history, but I shall also read whatever I damn well please no matter how little it contributes to my ongoing project of knowledge accumulation.

A man shall have his fancies.

* The other two being Police Procedural exemplified by the likes of CSI, and Locked Room Puzzles exemplified by Agatha Christie. But that’s for a different post.

3 responses

  1. Viscount Quijano

    In the spirit of your efforts, and somewhat meta, I think you would quite enjoy ‘The Junior Officers’ Reading Club’ by Patrick Hennessey. I found it a thoughtful, considered, and personal perspective on modern British military endeavours – less gung-ho than similar books on the topic, but enjoyable for it.

    Also – the books from the eponymous Club’s list would probably tickle your fancy:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Junior_Officers'_Reading_Club

    Regards. [Thanks pal. CC]

    June 2, 2012 at 1:11 pm

  2. El Gino

    Mr Cervantes. I am watching your migration from pickup to “the man you want to be.” I think that’s wise… I think it’s the path all of us must take if we’re reading the signs long enough… but I’m confused by your methods.

    I’ve seen you post about watches, and talk about Cuban cigars, collectable books… feels more like Maxim mag than manhood to me.

    I think you used to approach pickup up via *principles* (impressive), and now you’re approaching “this next stage” via *trappings* (less so). I know you to be deeper than this… but this is what I’m seeing.

    Maybe you’re just trying to find your voice… but you were much more impressive in pickup than via your new lifestyle blog (which is painful to type, yuck) — seems more shallow/surface than you ever were before.

    Best of luck on this new bit.
    El Gino.

    [I write about what interests me, not what impresses. I smoke a cigar every weekend, read lots of books, and have a small watch collection. The point isn't "these are the trappings of what makes you cool", it's "follow whatever pleases you". CC]

    June 3, 2012 at 8:42 pm

  3. blackmetalcommando

    My friend had a stall at the recent Olympia bookfair and was opposite one of the Harrington’s. He watched them selling 20k books to customers. A different world, but a fascinating one.

    June 7, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers